The Excitement’s Setting In

I’m slowing handing off my commitments and now that my mind is getting clearer I have been able to focus more on my travels and am starting to get more excited. August is going to be a great month.

One of my best friends I haven’t seen in a year will be arriving tomorrow evening. When he gets in we will be going out for some beers at the Duke of Duckworth, his favourite bar. It’s Regatta Day on Wednesday, a civic holiday in St. John’s. The Regatta is North America’s oldest sporting event; a fixed-seat rowing competition. If the weather is suitable we have the day off; if not we go to work and the next suitable day is the holiday. Thankfully right now things are looking good. I would much prefer to have some beers with my buddy and not have to go in to work.

As I mentioned in my last post my sister is arriving August 15th. My brother was supposed to go out to Gros Morne with us but he couldn’t get the time off work. We’re looking for one or two other people to tag along with us. We are looking at kayaking and a small hike on the Saturday and then we’re possibly attempting the James Callahan Trail on the Sunday. The trail is a 16km hike up the mountain which we’re all somewhat nervous about being inexperienced hikers. This is the view we want to see though, it’s THE view of Gros Morne.

Another one of my friends gets back soon from being on the boats all summer, my best friend gets back August 25th after a summer in Gagetown with the reserves, and then I head home to Nova Scotia for a two week visit.

Next week my work term report is due and then I finish up my work term the following week. I think August is going to flew by.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

